MEMBER LOGIN

Just joined M&S
    • Years Exp
      Just Started
    • Goal
      Build Muscle
    • Photos

Default Do Nautilus Machines Work?

I am brand new to lifting and really would like to build some muscle. However, I don't really have anyone that I can go work out with. Since I don't have anyone to spot me, I feel like if I am going to be lifting heavy weights that that would be dangerous. However, the gym I go to does have some nautilus machines. Since those don't require a spotter, I was wondering if those work as well as free weights?

I have never seen a serious lifter using the machines before but I can't tell if that is because they don't work, or because of some macho thing that compels people to use free weights instead. I am still in the process of finding a good routine but the ones I have been finding talk about free weights and I just didn't know if that would be safe for me as a beginner without a spotter.

• Years Exp
      3-4 Years
    • Goal
      Build Muscle
    • Photos

Welcome to the forum mate.

As a beginner to training, you should be looking to use mostly free-weighted exercises.
    Free-weighted exercises are superior to weight machines, as free weights will enable your body to recruit the use of important stabilizer muscles and enhance co-ordination and proper joint and ligament strength.
    Free weights can also allow a much greater natural range of motion.

The problem with machines is that they generally isolate a muscle group, and restrict the use of stabilizer muscles and the recruitment of surrounding tendons, through the machines' limited range of motion.

Machines certainly do have a role in a workout routine, don't get me wrong.
    But the emphasis should be on free-weights.

As a beginner, you shouldn't be lifting heavy anyway.
    The opening 8-12 weeks should have a great emphasis on correct exercise technique and allowing the body to safely and properly adapt to lifting weights.