MEMBER LOGIN

Just joined M&S
    • Years Exp
      2-3 Years
    • Goal
      Get Huge
    • Photos

Default Full body VS. Split routine for ectomorph

Hello everyone. First time post for me however I have visited the site many times to read all the great info on the forums!

I will try to keep this quick by giving a description of my body type and workout habbits.

I am 24 years old curently about 190lbs. Over the last two years i've gained about 35-45 pounds(45 pounds at my peak, then i cut down a little during summer) taking in about 3500 calories a day. My workouts consisted of various split routines. I tried to change them every couple months or so to shock the muscles. I have had very good results from the split routines up to about 6 months ago. I know i have probably reached a plateo. My current routine is dougs mass building routine for ectomorphs. I have been doing it for about 2 months. I dont have to much of a problem gaining wieght because i've been eatting like crazy, however it just seems like the weight i put on is around the belly and my strength gains are minimal(as of recent).

I have been reading lately that ecomorphs should not even bother with any isolations movements. I have also read that most compounds should be used more then one time a week. So this obveiously means compounds only in a full body routine.

Sorry for rambling.....My ultimate question is should i stick to using different split routines or switch to a full body with compounds? Which is more beneficial to an ectomorph like myself. Thanks for taking the time to read my post!

• Years Exp
      2-3 Years
    • Goal
      Get Fit
    • Photos