MEMBER LOGIN

Regular Poster
    • Years Exp
      1-2 Years
    • Goal
      Build Muscle
    • Photos

Default Can I train my chest today if my arms are sore?

Howdy,

I did my arm routine on Monday (Doug's 5 day cutting program) and legs yesterday. On Monday I was able to up the amount I lift and made some great progress but my arms are still pretty sore today. Is there a downside to working my chest today (which also taxes my arms a fair amount as I am a beginner) if my arms are this sore or would shoulders be better? I could also just do a pure cardio day with some core training if it would be better to wait. I would like to train today and tomorrow though since I will be away from Thursday to Sunday.

• Years Exp
      3-4 Years
    • Goal
      Build Muscle
    • Photos

If you think that it is going to significantly impact your workout, then you may be best lightening the load or just putting the chest workout to the next day.
    Soreness doesn't necessarily mean muscles havn't recovered either.
    Consistency is the key

• Years Exp
      20+ Years
    • Goal
      Get Fit
    • Photos

If your arm is still sore then by doing chest would you not isolate further your pecs to contract more vigorously and would this not only improve the pec development as well.

With shoulders you really need your arms more rested I feel for the pressing movements really call into your triceps, ie military press. Bench press does call in your triceps but with the arms more fatigued then your chest, your pecs would fire more(call it more isolation). Flies your arms are really not called in to assist with the movement.(-another chest exercise)

Aerobics sure could be added as well.

Just my thoughts
    A home gym consisting of Bowflex Power-Pro XTL and power blocks(5-90)

Größte Mutter im Zimmer Abaddon's Avatar
    • Years Exp
      4-5 Years
    • Goal
      Get Huge
    • Photos